When I got this bike, I wanted it to change my life.  Intentionally, I imbued it and myself with that power.  I wanted to make it happen.  

It’s been less than two months since I started down a new career path and challenged myself to begin bike commuting.  Luckily, most of it is on a bike path.  I still have to travel through downtown Seattle, but it’s not as scary as one might think.  I adapted to riding my bike very quickly, as I usually adapt quickly to anything, and that may be innate, but I think it’s mostly because I want to adapt.  I’ve always embraced change and pushed myself to get out of my comfort zone.  Bike commuting isn’t comfortable.  Of course, there’s a lot of traffic to watch out for, as well as other commuters.  And the awkwardness of maneuvering the bike rack on a bus is no joke.  None of it’s easy.  But each time, it gets a little less awkward and a little bit easier.  I don’t let it fluster me, stay calm, and just do my best.  

In the morning, I pack a change of athletic clothes in a backpack and put my bike on the bus for the ride downtown.  Once downtown, I get off at the first stop and bike the one mile to my workplace.  After work, I change in the bathroom, slather on sunscreen if it’s sunny (not likely 😜), and bike from the office onto the bike trail towards home.  It’s about 7.5 miles and takes me 40-45 minutes.  If I road the bus home in rush hour traffic, it would take 1hr up to 1:30hr.

I began to love my bike commute right away.  Being in the fresh air after staying in a cubicle all day is purely therapeutic.  It’s a little scary, and so it’s exhilarating.  It’s a convenient way to get my workout in, too.

